Week-END

I’m sad that it’s Sunday because tomorrow is Monday…. but I’m also happy because I’m only 3 days away from my husband and I heading out of town just the two of us for 5 days.  This never happens!  The last time we had time away like this was in 2011.  This is going to be nice, but also a challenge when it comes to eating.  But I’m determined and I’m going to do the best I can and make the best choices I can.

It’s been a tough couple days every since I got my fill.  I just can’t seem to get my rhythm back.  I’ve been tired and sluggish.  I walked Friday and Saturday and today’s activity was over 4 hours of cleaning.  Mostly sweeping and mopping.  I got over 10k steps just from that.  But I don’t feel like I’m eating like I was, except that I am.  (If that makes sense)  Yesterday I was constantly hungry so I ate and ate, ended up at over 1500 calories for the day.  I ate a little higher carbs than normal, 36 net carbs.  My macros were really good though:  Fat 69%, carbs 9%, and protein 22%.  I tried to load up on the fat because I was feeling so sluggish.  I have been drinking tons of water, Thursday 112 oz, Friday 120 oz, yesterday 144 oz, and so far I’ve got 96 oz today.  I tested myself and I am still in ketosis, so that’s a good thing.

So far, I haven’t really followed my plan of having protein shakes for lunch and dinner.  As much as I want to do that, I’m afraid that doing that Thursday and Friday is what has caused this dip in my energy.

I have been being conscious of eating slower and chewing really well.  I need to practice taking smaller bites too.  Chewing really really well, doesn’t work that well when you have a mouth full of food, at some point you have to swallow something that probably wasn’t chewed enough.

I read on 365FitJournal’s blog about the books Keto Clarity by Jimmy Moore and Keto Adapted by Maria Emmerich, so I bought both of them and started reading Keto Adapted.  So far, it’s pretty interesting.  I bought them because I wanted to learn more about the way I’m eating and how it works with my body.  Once I’m done, I will give an update on my thoughts on the books and what I learned from them.

On Saturday I started couch to 5k again.  When I stopped in November I was stuck on week 5.  That week you are supposed to run 3/4 of a mile or 8 minutes.  Well I can run the 8 minutes, but not the 3/4 of a mile.  I was running for 10 min an still not getting 3/4 of a mile, so I just kept repeating it over and over.  Then I stopped doing it, well I stopped working out all together.  I decided Saturday it was time to get back at it.  I’m going to do day 3 of each week until it gets tough or I get to week 5 and then I will go from there.  Week 1 Day 3 was a piece of cake.  It’s 60 seconds of running alternated with 90 seconds of walking.  Tomorrow is Week 2 Day 3 and it’s 90 seconds of running alternated with 2 min of walking.  Shouldn’t be too hard.

Well, time to say goodbye to the weekend and get ready for Monday.

Sundays

One thought on “Week-END

  1. Enjoy your trip!

    I don’t know anything about what is allowed with your band but added salt is very helpful for energy since a keto diet causes quite bit of fluid loss. If you can sip some chicken broth, it might help!

    Like

Leave a Reply

