Unicorns, Rainbows and Butterflies!

It’s all Unicorns, rainbows and butterflies now right?

Purple Unicorns rainbows and butterflies

Day 6:  When I woke up this morning I didn’t have the feeling that the yogurt was stuck there anymore.  I had more of the yogurt this morning, but I mixed it with milk so it was really thin.  Not quite as sore today, although I think from laying around so much, my calves are starting to hurt.  My plan is to start walking for exercise on Thursday.  I will probably start with just 15 minutes and see how I feel.  In my last nutrition appointment my nutritionist made it very clear that I didn’t have any restrictions on cardio and he wanted me to start getting active as soon as I could.  My only restriction is on lifting anything over 20 pounds.

Today I got some Campbell’s condensed split pea and ham soup and added the can of water and then pureed it into liquid with my hand/stick mixer thing and that is what I drank for dinner last night.  It was so nice to have that.  I drank about 1/2 cup and I thought I still felt hungry so I got up to get a little more, but by the time I got to the kitchen I felt like I already had too much.  Later my stomach was growling so I mixed some activa with milk and drank a couple ounces of that.  That made me feel better.

I also noticed that I had some white gross stuff on my tongue.  It was really gross.  Not sure what to think.  I talked to my friend google and found 3 possibilities, one being Thrush, another being dehydration, and the last being in ketosis.  Thrush is possible because of the antibiotics, so I will keep eating  drinking the yogurt and if it gets worse go to the doctor.  I don’t think dehydration is the issue, from day one I have been drinking at least 24 oz of water, plus 3-4 cups of broth, and now I’m drinking 48 oz of water, plus other stuff.  So I’m leaning more towards ketosis.  I’m pretty sure I was already in it before the surgery since I was eating less than 30 g of carbs a day, and that hasn’t changed a whole lot since the surgery.  I will keep and eye on it and if it doesn’t start going away or gets worse, I will call the doctor. shot

This is the shot that I give myself everyday right now to prevent blood clots.

Day 7:  Can’t wait till tomorrow to see how much I have lost this week eating nothing!  I also can’t wait until tomorrow to eat some food.  Although I am a little scared.  This will make it all real to see what it’s like to eat with the band.  I had that little experience with the yogurt, but I don’t know if I can go by that since I was probably still pretty swollen.

Today I wasn’t hungry when I woke up, wasn’t actually hungry until around 11:30, I’ve been trying to drink a protein drink, but I’m having a hard time.  I’m not really sure why.  I loved them during my preop diet phase.  I was drinking 3-4 of them a day and totally happy and content.  Now I can barely stand to take a couple sips.  But I know I have to, I need the nutrients and I don’t want to start falling back to higher carb products.  The ones I’m drinking are GNC Total Lean25, they are 170 calories, only 6 g of carbs and 2 g of sugar and 25 grams of protein.  Maybe the difference is before I could down the whole bottle in basically 2 big drinks, and now I have to sip it slowly so I’m tasting it continuously.

I’m feeling so much better today.  So much more energy and attitude! (In a good way)  Not too sore at all, just a little on the port side.  Well except if I cough or sneeze.

Oh that total OOPS moment.  I just gulped down the rest of my protein shake, it was probably  3-4 huge swallows, I had the last one in my mouth and thought “oh crap, what did I just do, what do I do now?”  Well, I swallowed, and I can feel it close to coming back up.  OOOPS.  I’m sure it won’t be the last time I forget.  It’s really not a good feeling though.  Luckily that feeling didn’t last long, hopefully that means the swelling is gone way down and liquid can go through the opening easily.

End of week 1 Post Op!!!!  Lost 5.6 pounds.  That is 13.6 lbs since I started the pre-op diet.

Week 2: All liquids and pureed foods:  Yogurt, pureed fruit, blended vegetables (think baby food), juice,  oatmeal, cream of wheat, blended soups, mashed potatoes and sweet potatoes, scrambled eggs mashed, cottage cheese, blended meats.

Here is what my tummy looks like now, almost like a treasure map.  The doctor prescribed some really good scar cream to put on my scars, so hopefully it will help.

Incisions

Leave a Reply

